21.—Lieutepant-Governors of Saskatchewan, 1905-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950—concluded

Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 24, 1948: 31 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation; 19 Liberals, 1 Independent and 1 Liberal Progressive-Conservative.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier, President of the Council (Minister of Co-operation and Co- operative Development, Nov. 14, 1944) Provincial Treasurer. Attorney General. Minister of Social Wellare and Reha- bilitation. Provincial Secretary. Minister of Highways and Trans- portation. Minister of Labour. Minister of Natural Resources and Industrial Development. Minister of Health. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Jepotent. Minister of Public Works and Tele-	Hon. T. C. DOUGLAS. Hon. C. M. FINES. Hon. J. W. CORMAN. Hon. J. H. STURDY. Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS. Hon. J. T. DOUGLAS. Hon. W. S. LLOYD. Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS. Hon. L. F. MCINTOSH. Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK. Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK. Hon. T. C. BENTLEY. Hon. I. C. NOLLET.	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1949 Jan. 8, 1946	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Aug. 4, 1948 Aug. 4, 1948 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Nov. 13, 1944 Aug. 4, 1948 Aug. 4, 1948	
phones and Telegraphs	Hon. J. A. DARLING	Aug. 4, 1948	Aug. 4, 1948	

Subsection 9.—Alberta

There are ten members of the Executive Council of Alberta: the Premier and Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Agriculture; the Minister of Economic Affairs; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Public Works, who is also responsible for the Department of Railways and Telephones; the Minister of Mines and Minerals, and Lands and Forests; the Minister of Health and Minister of Public Welfare; the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Provincial Secretary; the Attorney General; and the Minister of Industries and Labour.

There are 57 members of the Legislative Assembly who are viected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the President of the Executive Council is \$9,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$7,000. Since no party is recognized as the official opposition, a special allowance of \$750 is paid to the Leaders of the Liberal and Co-operative Commonwealth Federation parties. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,000 plus an expense allowance of \$1,000.

22.—Lieutenant-Governors of Alberta, 1905-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note .-- See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission			Name	Date of Commission	
GEORGE H. V. BULYEA GEORGE H. V. BULYEA ROBERT GEORGE BRETT. ROBERT GEORGE BRETT. WILLIAM EGBERT.	Oct. Oct. Oct.	5, 6, 20,	1910 ¹ 1915 1920 ¹	PHILIP C. H. PRIMROSE J. C. BOWEN John J. Bowlen	Sept. 10 Mar. 20	0, 1936

¹ Second term.